Journal Entry – February 25th, 2014 – Day 14

Tom hasn’t been home for 14 days. I have made it to the grocery store exactly twice, both times to roam the isles pointlessly and arrive home with nothing worth while or that goes together or that can be combined to form a fully-functioning meal. I’m living off of peanut butter toast and avocados, but the good news is that I’ve barely filled the dishwasher once with dishes and I’m almost through the third season of my newly favorite pathetic teen-drama on Netflix.

Despite the fact that I am the biggest nag in the whole world when Tom’s around, I can’t seem to pick up my own socks or do my own laundry while he’s away. I am a stereotypical bachelor disguised in women’s sweatpants and a tank top. I start projects only to leave them half completed in a pile, then come back later and look at them like I can’t remember where they came from. I recognize this in myself because I so often see that look on my partner’s face, when I point out the milk he left on the counter 20 minutes earlier or the laundry basket that’s been left on the bathroom counter, a pair of jeans strung out with one leg in the basket and one leg still in the stacking drier, a footie sock static-stuck to their cuff.

Is this loneliness, or is this simply freedom? I realized earlier this week that I’ve never lived alone before, and I’m not sure if I like it. No, I know I don’t like it. But I have to appreciate a few of the perks…and for this short time, I will fully take advantage of them by sprawling across the bed all night and leaving my hair in the sink whether I know its fully disgusting or not.

And yeah, I know what you’re thinking….I sure know how to live large.

Leave a comment